Recipe: Paleo Fried Chunky Monkey

Sometimes my old eating habits come back, especially when the ice cream man drives down out street MULTIPLE times per day. I’ve weened off most refined sugar and eat fruit minimally compared to my other three food groups of meat, vegetables, and nuts. 

I tell ya though, come 10:00 o’clock, I’m dreaming of that Tweety Bird ice cream popsicle with bubblegum eyeballs. So, I must act fast to squash said sweet craving or indulge myself in moderation. Tonight I inuldged myself in quite possibly, the best paleo dessert known to man.

Fried Chunky Monkey. Banana’s fried in coconut oil, topped with cinnamon, honey, shredded coconut, walnuts, and Enjoy Life chocolate chips that were so perfectly melted. 

image

I certainly am no food photographer OR maker of beauty award food, but it’s only because I don’t have the patience to NOT eat it.

Here is the recipe:

Paleo Fried Chunky Monkey
Serving: 1 

1 ripe banana, sliced
1 T of coconut oil (or butter, as fat is so good for you)
Honey
Crushed Walnuts
Unsweetened coconut flakes
Enjoy Life Chocolate chips (or dark chocolate chips)

In small saucepan, heat coconut oil on medium-high heat. Place banana slices in pan and cook on each side for two minutes, flipping over with a small spoon, as not to crush their tiny banana souls. They should be golden brown on each side when done.

Place in small bowl and immediately top with toppings (chocolate chips first so they can melt). Enjoy!

Love from the front range,

Cameo

Leave a Reply

